Literacy Action Network Adult Basic Education Awards

Literacy Action Network proudly recognizes honorable students, teachers, managers and leaders who are making a difference in Adult Basic Education. Recipients are celebrated each year during our annual Summer Institute conference. Do you know of an individual or a colleague with exemplary dedication and passion to serve adult learners? Consider a nomination for one of the following awards.

ABE Awards Categories

ABE Teacher of the Year: Given to a teacher in an ABE program to recognize outstanding performance as a teacher.

ABE Outstanding Learner: Given to a learner who has made a significant impact on adult literacy and has a powerful commitment to volunteer and lead peers.

ABE Leadership: Given to an individual in the ABE field who demonstrates exemplary leadership, flexibility, or creativity in their ABE program.

Todd Wagner Award for Outstanding Service and Achievement: Given to an ABE professional who has dedicated at least 10 years to the field and whose service has made a significant impact on their program, their region or the state.

Awards Criteria

  • Contribution of nominees is extraordinary and significant (i.e. creative, unique, innovative, persistent, original, effective and/or resourceful).
  • Work exhibits high standards of quality and combined with quantity of the work, makes an impact on the literacy effort in a community or in Minnesota.
  • Dedication is shown by the length of involvement or by a strong concentration of service.
  • Nominee is currently active or has provided service within the past year.

Past Award Winners