Literacy Action Network Annual Adult Basic Education Awards

Each year Literacy Action Network honors teachers, students, managers, advocates, programs and projects working and succeeding in Adult Basic Education.  NEW THIS YEAR! The individual and group awards will be handed out at the ABE Summer Institute Conference’s Annual ABE awards luncheon ceremony to be held on August 20, noon-1:00 pm.  This ceremony has proven to be a powerful and moving event for all involved; please submit a nomination for someone you feel deserves this honor and acknowledgement.

Nominations are being accepted through May 22, 2020

Please review the ABE Award information sheet and submit the ABE Award Nomination Form by fillout out the Google form HERE.

Award Categories

Individual Awards

ABE Teacher of the Year: Given to a teacher in an ABE program to recognize outstanding performance as a teacher.

ABE Outstanding Learner: Given to a learner who has made a significant impact on adult literacy and has a powerful commitment to volunteer and lead peers.

ABE Leadership: Given to an individual in the ABE field who demonstrates exemplary leadership, flexibility, or creativity in his/her ABE program.

Outstanding Service and Achievement Award: Given to an ABE professional who has dedicated at least 10 years to the field and whose service has made a significant impact on their program, their region or the state.

Individual or Group Awards

ABE Advocacy Award: These awards can be given in many different categories for an individual/groups’ work in promoting/advocating for adult literacy and learners.

ABE Partner Award: Given to a business, nonprofit organization, social service agency, or foundation that has provided significant assistance in serving learners or our communities.