Several  individuals and organizations have received awards for outstanding work in ABE. Recipients, honored during the 2016 Summer Institute in St. Cloud this August, included:

ABE Teacher of the Year: Mary Zamacona, (Minnesota Literacy Council.)
ABE Outstanding Learner Award:  Shu Wen & Ying Ling Liang, AEOA, Cloquet Adult Literacy
ABE Leadership Award: Pam Dane, West ABE, St. Michael, Monticello and Big Lake.
Outstanding Service and Achievement Award: Ruth Lanquist, Metro South ABE, Bloomington
ABE Advocacy Award: George Kimball, Minnesota Department of Corrections
ABE Partner Award: Adult Academic Program Robbinsdale Area Schools and Community Education, Swimming is for All, Golden Valley.
Projects of Needs and Innovation (PONI) Award: Adult Academic Program of Robbinsdale Area Schools.