2016 Literacy Action Network ABE Individual and Group Awards

ABE Teacher of the Year: Mary Zamacoma (Minnesota Literacy Council)

Given to a teacher in an ABE program to recognize outstanding performance as a teacher.

ABE Outstanding Learner: Shu Wen and Ying Ling Liang (AEOA, Cloquet Adult Literacy)

Given to a learner who has made a significant impact on adult literacy and has a powerful commitment to volunteer and lead peers.

ABE Leadership: Pam Dane (West ABE, Monticello and Big Lake)

Given to an individual in the ABE field who demonstrates exemplary leadership, flexibility, or creativity in his/her ABE program.

Outstanding Service and Achievement Award: Ruth Lanquist

Given to an ABE professional who has dedicated at least 10 years to the field and whose service has made a significant impact on their program, their region or the state.

ABE Advocacy Award: George Kimball (Minnesota department of Corrections)

Given for an individual/groups’ work in promoting/advocating for adult literacy and learners.

ABE Partner Award: Robbinsdale Area Schools, 'Swimming is for All')

Given to a business, nonprofit organization, social service agency, or foundation that has provided significant assistance in serving learners or our communities


PONI Award - ABE Projects of Need and Innovation: Memory Quilt Partnership Project of Adult Academic Program Golden Valley.

Awards are presented to outstanding projects that meet a unique need or demonstrate innovation in the field of ABE.  A project is either a one-time event or an ongoing activity within an ABE program.