2015 Literacy Action Network ABE Individual and Group Awards

ABE Teacher of the Year: Elizabeth Gilmore

Given to a teacher in an ABE program to recognize outstanding performance as a teacher.

ABE Outstanding Learner: Xianghua Quan

Given to a learner who has made a significant impact on adult literacy and has a powerful commitment to volunteer and lead peers.

ABE Leadership: Kirsten Fuglseth

Given to an individual in the ABE field who demonstrates exemplary leadership, flexibility, or creativity in his/her ABE program.

Outstanding Service and Achievement Award: Vicki Ostrom

Given to an ABE professional who has dedicated at least 10 years to the field and whose service has made a significant impact on their program, their region or the state.

ABE Advocacy Award: Amber Delliger

Given for an individual/groups’ work in promoting/advocating for adult literacy and learners.

ABE Partner Award: Mike Boehme

Given to a business, nonprofit organization, social service agency, or foundation that has provided significant assistance in serving learners or our communities.

ABE Legislative Award:  Senator Chuck Wiger

Given in recognition of legislative leadership on behalf of adult basic education.

PONI Award - ABE Projects of Need and Innovation

New this year!  Awards  presented to outstanding projects that meet a unique need or demonstrate innovation in the field of ABE.  A project is either a one-time event or an ongoing activity within an ABE program.

Elder Care Employment and Civics Education Program, Robbinsdale Area Schools

Skype Coaching Project, Lakeville Learning Center

TEAS V Test Prep Programming, Metro North ABE