2014 Literacy Action Network Annual Adult Basic Education Awards

Each year Literacy Action Network honors teachers, students, managers, advocates, and programs working and succeeding in Adult Basic Education.  The awards were handed out at the ABE Summer Institute Conference’s Annual ABE awards ceremony on the evening of August 21th; congratulations to this years very deserving award winners!

ABE Teacher of the Year: Margaret Genereux

Given to a teacher in an ABE program to recognize outstanding performance as a teacher.

ABE Outstanding Learner: Edith Tlaseca

Given to a learner who has made a significant impact on adult literacy and has a powerful commitment to volunteer and lead peers.

ABE Leadership: Patricia Pawlak and Amy Vickers

Given to an individual in the ABE field who demonstrates exemplary leadership, flexibility, or creativity in his/her ABE program.

Outstanding Service and Achievement Award: Julie Mischke

Given to an ABE professional who has dedicated at least 10 years to the field and whose service has made a significant impact on their program, their region or the state.

ABE Advocacy Award: Rosemary Sharkey

These awards can be given in many different categories for an individual/groups’ work in promoting/advocating for adult literacy and learners.

ABE Partner Award: Hibbing Community College

Given to a business, nonprofit organization, social service agency, or foundation that has provided significant assistance in serving learners or our communities.

Past Award Winners